Privacy with Google and Microsoft login buttons

If logging in with Microsoft or Google it’s very important to understand that there is absolutely no privacy implication.

By clicking either of these buttons, the system is requesting that Microsoft/Google verifies that the email address being presented holds a valid account with that service and that the password is correct. Microsoft / Google themselves then tell i-gtm either Yes, this is a genuine email address and the password is correct, therefore the user is valid and genuine, or not as the case may be.

If we recognise the email address as also being in in the i-gtm system and it is validated by Google / Microsoft, we then allow that user in to the system.

At no point does the user’s Google or Microsoft password touch our application and Google and Microsoft do not track users’ interaction with i-gtm. This is purely a validation function that is industry standard.